ReSAKSS-ECA, EABC, EAC and ASARECA Regional Workshop on Non-Tariff Barriers in Kenya, Uganda and Tanzania

November 4, 2009

ReSAKSS-ECA, the East African Business Council (EABC), the East African Community (EAC) and the Association for Strengthening Agricultural Research in East and Central Africa (ASARECA) are jointly organizing a regional workshop to be held on November 4, 2009 in Arusha, Tanzania to disseminate the results of the study on Non Tariff Barriers (NTBs) in Kenya, Tanzania and Uganda. The objectives of the study were to quantify the cost of various types of NTBs within the EAC and evaluate their welfare impacts. ReSAKSS-ECA conducted the study in collaboration with ASARECA. Within the EAC countries, national researchers from the Kenya Public Policy Research Institute (KIPPRA), the Economic and Policy Research Center (EPRC)-Uganda, and the Economic and Social Research Foundation (ESRF)-Tanzania were involved. Participants to the workshop in Arusha will include those from the COMESA, governments and the private sectors in Kenya, Tanzania, Uganda, Rwanda and Burundi.